Wednesday, 29 October 2014

List of Noble Prize Winners 2014:-

Noble Prize Winners for the year 2014:
  • Physics: Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura (A team of Japanese scientists) (For the invention of blue LEDs – which allow for energy efficient white lighting)
  • Chemistry: Eric Betzig (USA), William E. Moerner and Stefan W. Hell (Germany) (For the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy)
  • Physiology (Medicine): John O’Keefe (US-British), May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser (Norway)(For their discovering how the brain navigates)
  • Literature: Patrick Modiano (France) (For the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life world of the occupation)
  • Peace: Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafjai (Pakistan) (To Kailash Satyarthi for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and to Malala Yousafjai for the right of all children to education)
  • The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences: Jean Tirole (France) (For research on market power and regulation that has helped policy-makers to understand how to deal with industries dominated by a few companies.)


Post a Comment